The Royal Pavilion grew over 35 years from a simple farmhouse to a spectacular palace. In 1787 Henry Holland extended the original farmhouse into a neo-classical building know as the 'Marine Pavilion'.
From 1815-1823 John Nash used new technology to transform the Pavilion into the Indian style building that exists today. He enlarged the building and added the domes and minarets that characterise his design by superimposing a cast iron framework over Holland's Marine Pavilion.
Other features of Nash's design were less successful: within 10 years the roof had started to leak and concealed drainpipes were overflowing and causing dry rot.
The Royal Pavilion's lavish interiors combine Chinese-style decorations with magnificent furniture and furnishings.
Adorned with gilded dragons, carved palm trees and imitation bamboo staircases, the Palace's unique style mixes Asian exoticism with English eccentricity.
Daring and inventive colours feature throughout, and there are many original items on loan from HM The Queen.
|Check the web site for latest admission prices.|
|April to September 9.30am-5.45pm (last admission 5pm); October to March 10am-5.15pm (last admission 4.30pm); Closed 25 & 26 December|
|The ground floor of the Pavilion is easily accessible to wheelchair users with wide doorways and no steps to negotiate. Situated on the ground floor are the sumptuous State Rooms, Drawing Rooms, the Great Kitchen, the King’s Apartments and the gift shop which leads to the exit. Also on the ground floor is a specially adapted toilet for wheelchair users. Access to the first floor is via the staircase only. Tactile tours of the palace can be booked for groups of visually impaired visitors. Sign language interpreted group tours are available for the hard of hearing. All guided tours must be booked in advance. Wheelchairs are available on request.|
| Pavilion Buildings
|+44 (0)1273 290900|